Feeding System Advice

Talk about anything here. ( non pigeon related please)
Winfort Lofts

Hello All,

Hope you all are having a good racing season so far!

I have been able to enter the last two races this season so far and am enjoying it all so far!

As we all know consistency can be a very good thing! Unfortunatley for me, so far that consistency has been bottom of the results sheet :)

I can honestly live with being bottom of the sheet, but so far I have been way off the racing pace, this week for example, the club birds were doing great speeds of 1600+ yds/m, whereas my birds were around 950yds/m.

Admittedly, I know that my feeding currently is not right, so I am looking for a system that will get me on a good footing to start out! So far I have been racing on a breeding mix, which I know will not be doing me any favours!

I suppose the next thing I am wondering, is whether or not the feed, can cause that much of a difference in race speeds??

Please be nice, I'm still learning!

yours in sport!
Andy

Hi and welcome to the forum.
There are lots of things to consider in your questions. You will get different answers from different people depending on how they race. It can be frustrating being so far behind the winners but at least you have the right attitude. Things will improve for you as you gain experience.
Firstly have you got sprint pigeons or distance? Are you racing natural or widowhood or some other system? Some people think feeding is an art but I don’t. How are your birds flying around home? What have your returns been like?
A lot of questions to start with but hope you don’t mind. We can then give you all the advice we can .
I now am only interested in racing in national distance races myself now so my methods will be different to those club racing.
Good to see your enjoying the sport and long may it continue.
Back just enjoying club racing for the time being.
Winfort Lofts

I have mostly sprint birds, from what I have been told anyways!